A word, please

I do my best not to discuss certain topics. My goal here it to entertain and to provide something good to read, not to preach politics or further an agenda.

Religion, race, and gender do not define a person or character. They are pieces, not the whole. A person is a person is a person. I don’t care what god you pray to, where your ancestors are from, or what type of reproductive organs you have. I had no choice in my gender, sexual preference, or race. What half-way intelligent person would hold that against someone else?

I am a white, pagan, male. I’m also a husband, a father, a brother, a son, a writer, and those impact what I create more than the first three. If I wasn’t married, I would be a different person. If I didn’t have children, I would be a different person etc.

Religion is deeply personal. If you took two from the same demographic across the board who attended the same church and asked them to define their beliefs there would be two different answers. There may be similarities, but unless they were part of a cult there would be some variances.

That as a bit of a tangent, back to the topic.

I don’t ignore or discredit a book, short story, movie, or show because of the writers personal bits. If I don’t like something it isn’t due to the writers race or religion.

Does this trinity of origin, creed, and chromosome influence the output? Of course, and I look forward to it. My life is limited to my life, odd how that works. A different perspective, a fresh angle, these are great things to experience, and I look forward to reading them.

I tend to ramble and get distracted by shiny things so I’ll get put my thesis statement right here: prejudice is the tool of the lazy and obtuse.

Enjoy your day & thank you for stopping by.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

