Warm Bodies – Movie Review

 

When I first heard about this film it was described as doing to zombies what Twilight did to vampires. I like a good zombie movie and so I avoided this like a hungry shambler. Zombies are overplayed and over exposed these days and it was just a matter of time before they became a joke.

That being said, this is in the vein of Fido rather than Night of the Dead. It explores the inner workings of the zombies, why they eat brains, and how that affects them. I didn’t want to like this movie, I wanted to rip it up and down, but I enjoyed it. It’s not a horror movie really, but it has elements of tension.

The characters are great, the zombies are wonderful, and the main zombie had me rooting for him within five minutes. John Malcovich shows up in the movie with one of the few roles I didn’t think the casting dumped money on. I don’t want to spoil anything so I’m stopping there.

Verdict: Watch it.

2 Comments

Filed under Movie Reviews, Rant

2 responses to “Warm Bodies – Movie Review

  1. I loved this movie. I’m guessing someone said, “Nobody can write a zombie love story,” and the author, Isaac Marion, rose to the challenge. It’s funny, it’s warm. I loved the best friend relationship even more than the love interest. People have said they found the female lead vacuous, but I think that was done on purpose. He’s the zombie, but she’s the least interesting of them all. Or maybe not. ;-D Hope this isn’t considered a spoiler.

Leave a Reply

