My Guilty Pleasure Movies

Here is a little list I thought I would compile. It’s a set of movies that I’ve enjoyed that don’t get a lot of love.

Image

1. Battle: Los Angeles
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1217613/
Directed by Jonathan Liebesman (who is directing the new Ninja Turtle Movie) and filled with a strong cast. The story follows a squad of USMC soldiers as they face an alien invasion. Aaron Eckhart plays a great haunted soldier and the supporting cast is well done. These guys aren’t some super-soldier GI Joe crap, they’re just soldiers, and it works. It’s like Black Hawk Down meets War of the Worlds. Are there some hokey parts? Yeah, the civilians they meet up with are a little tacked on, but I enjoyed the film.

Image

2. Ghosts of Mars
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0228333/?ref_=nv_sr_2
This one is truly a guilty pleasure for me, I know it’s bad, but I can’t help watching it if I can. It’s a B-Movie and I love it, but I can’t go into watching it thinking it’s good. Does that make sense? It’s like if I go in remembering that I enjoy the film then it’s a disappointment, but if I go in with the idea that it’s a hokey 70s action movie in space, then I’m okay with it. Plus Jason Statham as a horn-dog is pretty funny.

Image

3. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0446029/
How is this movie not loved by all? Great soundtrack, awesome fight scenes, and it’s funny. I watch this movie once a month or more. Chris Evans and Brandon Routh steal the scenes they’re in, but Michael Cera plays a good lost soul.

behindthemask

4. Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0437857/
This is how ‘found footage’ movie should be. If you haven’t seen it, I won’t spoil the plot, but it mixes mocumentary style with traditional filming. Watch it, love it. If you liked Cabin in the Woods, you’ll like this one.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Movie Reviews, Rant

Leave a Reply

