Rereading The Monster Hunters Series

I was finally able to replace my copy of Monster Hunters International by Larry Correia. My first copy tackled the plunger and needed to be replaced. That’s not code for anything, it was knocked off the bathroom counter onto the plunger. As much as I like the book, I’m not going to read it after that.

Rereading the series. Currently on Book 2: Monster Hunter Vendetta
Thoughts:
Contains Minor Spoilers

Below.

1. Myers is a tool.
Seriously, he uses Hood’s death as a reason to leave MHI, but then in a flashback we see that he knew that Hood was summoning undead & ‘willingly’ let out Earl. If he really wanted to redeem himself, he should have stayed with MHI.

2. Owen is a jerk to Grant.
Book 1, I understand. Book 2, why? Grant admits (to Julie) it was a bad call, he gets captured by vamps, and Julie chooses Owen. Sure, no one tells Owen that Grant is coming back, but it should be water under the bridge. I don’t really understand why he went to MCB instead of coming back to MHI, but that’s information learned after the fact.

3. Traitors, how did I not see that coming?
Both traitors, how did I not see thing coming? Oh, he’s just a nice MCB agent, and she’s just a newbie who’s taken a shine on Owen, that’s perfectly natural.

4. Is it possible for a vampire to earn PUFF Exempt?
Susan seems a bit more in control than Ray, but she’s pretty focused. I’m not saying a PUFF Exempt vampire would be a good thing, just wondering if it would be possible. I don’t think it would really last since their main food source is people. Unless they hunted animals. Why wouldn’t they hunt animals? A nice health bison probably tastes better than Todd the junkie down the street.
*shrug*
I don’t know, maybe it’s the whole humans taste yummy thing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Rant

Leave a Reply

