Swords and Scoundrels by Julia Knight- Review

Swords and Scoundrels – Amazon

I will do my best not to spoil things. The story opens on Kacha and Vocho, two duelists who have fallen on hard times and have taken to being highwaymen. They’re brother and sister who happen to be the two best in their field. That was until Vocho supposedly killed someone he was paid to protect and they had to flee the city. What follows is adventure, intrigue, and more than a few deep interesting characters. The set dressings were cool, the overall plot had me invested, and the action was fun. Knight did a good job at keeping the swordplay moving without getting into blow-by-blow details.

This book had me hooked from chapter one. On more than one occasion I wanted to slap a couple of characters, but that wasn’t a bad thing. The character had flaws. Each person presented in the story wasn’t just some cutout plopped onto the page as a plot device. By far my favorite character was Petri. He starts out as what looks to be just a hatchet man, but there is so much more to him.

If you like The Three Musketeers, or swashbuckling stories in general, I would heartily suggest this book. It found me completely at random on Amazon, which doesn’t happen often. Finding new books is usually saved for trips to the store rather than online, but the cover, blurb, and sample had me hooked.

I look forward to book two.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

